Learning 3 Different Operations Tools in 30 Days: Week One Update

Matthew Schoenemann
2 min readDec 11, 2020

--

This month I’m learning 3 different operations tools. TextExpander, Hubspot, and Zapier. To learn more about my project, click here to view my project landing page.

This week I dove headfirst into TextExpander. To learn the ins and outs of how to use it and exactly how I used it, click here. But for this post, I'll just go over the highlights.

So What is TextExpander Exactly?

TextExpander is a software system that allows you to use abbreviations, or "codes," to send predetermined responses to customers on a chatbot or email. They're best used for questions you have to answer frequently.

The predetermined answers, or "snippets," are typed out into TextExpander and then given a code. To get the snippet to appear in your chat or email, type in that code and you can send it in seconds.

I copied and pasted answers from Torque Detail's FAQ page on their website. And I created quite a few snippets that way.

I also created a couple of email templates that might be helpful for Torque Detail. The first was an Order Received Notification.
This is what it looked like.

I also created an email template for an Order Sent Notification.

Week One Conclusion

These are just a few ways that you can use TextExpander, but they're the main items when using the system.

I think it's an ingenious system that allows you to save time when responding to customers and I can't imagine being a Customer Service Rep without it.

After this week I feel I can easily explain how to use TextExpander to someone (as evidenced by my tutorial video) and as I said I'll never be a Customer Service Representative without it.

A Look Ahead

Next week I will be learning how to use Hubspot. Hubspot is a CRM (Customer Response Management) system that encompasses many areas of a business and brings them into one system. After diving into Hubspot I’ll record a Loom video and write a blog post to share what I learn.

To view my project outline click here. To view week two’s update click here.

--

--

Matthew Schoenemann

Hi, I'm Matthew Schoenemann. I am currently an Advanced Team Member at Chick-fil-A Lebanon and I love the Lord, hiking, and history.